Board of Directors

Dato' Koh Hong Sun, Chairman, Independent Non-Executive Director


Dato' Koh was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director of QBE Malaysia on April 2011. He holds Master Degree in Strategic & Security Studies from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia.

Dato' Koh had a distinguished career with the Royal Malaysian Police (RMP) for almost 40 years, having joined RMP as a Probationary Inspector in 1971 and retired in October 2010 as the Director of Commercial Crime Investigation Department. During the period as an officer of the RMP, he has held various important command posts including as Commandant of The Police Training Centre in Kuala Lumpur, Assistant Director NCB-Interpol, Officer-in Charge of Brickfields Police District, Federal Traffic Chief, Deputy Chief Police Officer of Johor, Chief Police Officer of Penang and Commissioner of Police as Director of Commercial Crime Investigation Department. Dato' Koh is a Director of Mega First Corporation Berhad, DeGem Berhad, Tower Real Estate Investment Trust and Genting Malaysia Berhad which are listed on Bursa Malaysia.

Dato' Tan Ang Meng, Independent Non-Executive Director


Dato' Tan was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director of QBE Malaysia on 13 April 2016. He is the Chairman of the Audit Committee and Nomination Committee. He is also a member of the Remuneration Committee and Risk & Capital Committee.

He is a Certified Public Accountant and was admitted to the Malaysia Institute of Certified Public Accountants in 1980. Dato' Tan started his career in 1975 with PricewaterhouseCoopers, Kuala Lumpur in the audit division. He left the firm in 1981 to join UMW. In 1983, he joined Guinness Malaysia Berhad. Following the merger between Guinness Malaysia Berhad and Malayan Breweries (M) Sdn. Bhd., he was transferred to Malayan Breweries Limited in 1991 (which later changed its name to Asia Pacific Breweries Ltd) and served within the Group until January 2001. During that period, he held various senior management positions with his last position as Regional Director based in Singapore with responsibility for the brewery operations in China, Vietnam, Cambodia and Myanmar. In March 2001, he joined as Chief Executive Officer of Fraser & Neave Holdings Bhd, a position he held until his retirement in November 2010. Dato' Tan is also a Director of Mega First Corporation Berhad and Red Sena Berhad, which all are listed on Bursa Malaysia.

Adeline Koh (Ngoi), Executive Director


Adeline Koh [Ngoi] was appointed as the Executive Director on the Board of QBE Insurance (Malaysia) Berhad in May 2018. She also sits on the boards of QBE Seaboard Insurance Philippines Inc. and Raheja QBE General Insurance Company Limited in India.

Being an ex-regulator, Adeline has vast experience in insurance regulations and supervision, particularly in Asia. She joined QBE Asia Regional Office from 2005 and was responsible for the implementation of QBE's risk management strategy and framework as well as overseeing the regulatory and compliance activities in Asia. Since 2014, she has been the Regional Head of Regulatory and Compliance for QBE Asia Pacific Division which encompasses QBE's operations in Asia and the Pacific.

Prior to joining QBE, she was an ex-regulator in Singapore for over 20 years with 2 years stint as its Representative in the London Representative Office. She was also the Chief Executive Officer of the Institute of Banking and Finance (IBF) in Singapore, responsible for spearheading IBF in establishing its new charter as the standards setting body for financial professional competency in the financial sector in Singapore.

Adeline is a Fellow of the UK Chartered Insurance Institute. She is a member of the Nomination Committee.

Arunothayam Rajaratnam, Independent Non-Executive Director


Ms. Arunothayam Rajaratnam (Aruno), a former Lawyer and a Chartered Insurance Practitioner has held diverse roles in the industry including being a Principle Officer, Underwriter, Broker, Reinsurer, Legal Counsel, Claims Manager and Loss Adjuster.

She was awarded the "Personality Of The Year" at the 19th Asia Insurance Industry Awards (2015) in recognition of her 40 years of experience in the Asian insurance industry. In 2014, Aruno was the 1st Asian and only the 2nd woman to be awarded the prestigious PLUS 1 Award at the PLUS International Conference in Las Vegas, USA. She placed the 1st Directors & Officers Policy in Asia in 1986 and co-authored the mandatory textbook for the Certificate of General Insurance in Singapore in 1990.

Aruno was the pioneer who developed and managed the First Compulsory Professional Indemnity Insurance Scheme for Lawyers in Singapore. She continues to conduct lectures for the Insurance industry and organises several workshops in Asia for PLUS and for Bima Gyaan platform in India.


The Directors in office during financial year 2017:

Board Committee

Composition of the Board
Name of Director Designation
Dato' Koh Hong Sun Chairman / Independent Non-Executive Director
Dato' Tan Ang Meng Independent Non-Executive Director
Arunothayam Rajaratnam Independent Non-Executive Director
Bruce Anthony Howe
(Resigned on 31 Dec 2017)
Executive Director
Mark Thomas Lingafelter Executive Director
Board Committee Chairman Member
Audit Committee Dato' Tan Ang Meng Dato' Koh Hong Sun
Arunothayam Rajaratnam
Risk & Capital Committee Arunothayam Rajaratnam Dato' Koh Hong Sun
Dato' Tan Ang Meng
Remuneration Committee; Arunothayam Rajaratnam Dato’ Koh Hong Sun
Dato’ Tan Ang Meng
Nomination Committee Dato' Tan Ang Meng Dato’ Koh Hong Sun
Arunothayam Rajaratnam
Bruce Anthony Howe
Mark Thomas Lingafelter

Directors Attendance at Board and Board Committee
meetings held in financial year 2017

Meeting of Directors

  Full Meeting
of Directors
Audit Nomination Renumeration Risk & Capital
Number of meetings held during the year 6 5 4 3 6
  Number Attended Number Attended Number Attended Number Attended Number Attended
Dato' Koh Hong Sun 6 5 4 3 6
Bruce Anthony Howe
(Resigned on 31 December 2017)
3 2 2 2 3
Mark Thomas Lingafelter 6 5 4 3 6
Dato' Tan Ang Meng 6 5 4 3 6
Arunothayam Rajaratnam 6 5 4 3 6



Privacy Policy. We use a small number of cookies on this website to make the website as useful as possible. None of these cookies collect any personal information. To find out more about these cookies and how to control their use, see our Privacy and Cookies Policy.
Ok, I agree